Forums/Community Help

Answered

Will the bonus storage expire?

IchundIch
asked this on July 30, 2013 03:52 PM

Will the bonus storage expires? I've experienced a few cloud storage services, where the bonus storage from refferals expires after a certain time e.g. after 1 year. So will we be able to keep the bonus storage here forever?

 

Comments

User photo
Erdem

I think, this question needs to be answered clearly.

August 06, 2013 05:41 PM
User photo
G Fraser
I agree with the above posters. Copy need to say one way or another what their future policy will be on free accounts and whether they plan to charge for them and if so, when and how much? Whilst the free space seems very generous, it doesn't, seem to be a business model that is all that sustainable. The fear is that Copy will eventually have to make a charge for those using some of the free space that it is giving away at the moment. If this is the intent and Copy refuse to say then it could be seen as rather underhand and sharp practice as users pile in and become committed to the service believing it to be free only to find that they are having to pay for it later. If this question remains unanswered then the doubt will remain.
August 07, 2013 02:13 AM
User photo
Sween
Well t states in their privacy policy, they have the right to change it at any time, with or with out notice
August 07, 2013 03:28 AM
User photo
Xiaofeng Wu

This question should be clearly answered. I don't want to spend a lot of time inviting people to copy.com, then just find that I only have limited time for the extra space

August 09, 2013 02:32 PM
User photo
Zack White
Copy Support
Check Answer

Storage gained through our referral program is yours for the lifetime of your account. We will not be revoking any of the bonuses unless a user breaks the terms of our referral program.

August 09, 2013 06:18 PM
User photo
Sir Cost

Thank you

February 14, 2014 12:18 AM
User photo
Redsandro

Also in the TOS it says:

Free Accounts

Copy reserves the right to change the amount of free storage or terminate Free Accounts at any time.

(..)

if a Free Account is inactive for a significant period of time, then Copy may delete any or all of Your Files. At least 30 days notice will be provided (..) for any reason other than (..) deletion of data due to inactivity.

 

So don't go on holiday for too long. Your files might get deleted without notice.

April 04, 2014 09:26 AM